top of page
Search

Dementia Diary 17th June 2020

My mother has dementia. I would describe her as being at the middle stage. I am finding it extremely difficult to cope with so imagine many people feel the same. I am about to start a diary....firstly to help myself and also hoping to help others. This is my journey and I am aware of how difficult it is going to be.


Today I will give an introduction. I will then update every few days


Dementia has never impacted on my life. After noticing little signs that mum was forgetting I guess I still did not believe it. All I knew about dementia was that people simply forgot things. However there is so much more to it than that. Nothing prepares you for what is about to happen.


As I work I did not seem to be affected by mums illness. Although I would see her most days it was not for long maybe an hour or so.


So I just carried on...there was signs but I just did not want to see them. In the summer of last year the signs could no longer be ignored. Mum was changing...I was busy at the time with work and my daughters wedding kept me very upbeat. We could not ignore that mums mood was changing and at times was very volatile. It was hard to know what mum you would get. I did and still do take it all very personally as its so hard to go through. After all it is your mum speaking it is your mother in body but not in mind. However in my mind it does hurt it does make me cry.


Although there are fun times, where she says the most inappropriate things and she makes us laugh so much. Also to listen to the stories of her past which she talks about so much now, we get a glimpse of what her life was like. To hear her singing to the music when she is a good mood on a good day. I now say today was a good day or today was a bad day.


Some days I look at her and feel so sad she is a shadow of who she once was. To see her forget when someones birthday is....to ask what day is today. It must be awful for her. It is awful for us all. It is awful to see the vulnerability, that childlike state.


I know it will get harder....we can just take a day at a time


33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

DEMENTIA DIARY 02/07/2020

SO MANY EMOTIONS It has been almost a week since mum has been in hospital. It is very quiet, which is strange. Apparently she is good as gold in the hospital and sharing her goodies.....she can be s

Dementia Diary 29/06/2020

NOT THE BEST DAY I woke up this morning to a message from my sister to say mum had another fall in the hospital. We were so shocked about this. We have no control, we do not now how she is if she is

Dementia Diary 23/06/2020

Today has been a quieter day. Mum slept a lot today. Could not get her to eat. But generally quiet. So I will talk about guilt I often feel that I am not doing enough. Although I know I spend a lo

bottom of page